2016 Spring / Summer FABC Newsletter (June 25, 2016 4:13 pm)
Membership 2016 (January 25, 2016 1:48 am)

Chipola’s Franklin named NJCAA National Coach of the Year

April 10, 2015
Comments off

The recognition from Chipola’s championship season keeps pilling in.

Head coach Greg Franklin was recently named the Division I NJCAA Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. In his third season at the helm, Franklin guided the Lady Indians to their first-ever national championship, as Chipola finished 34-1.

Franklin’s overall record at Chipola is now 96-11.

Franklin helped mold talented Indians players such as NJCAA Player of the Year Evelyn Akhator (first team) and Sueterrica Key (second team), both of which were selected to All-American teams.
Prior to Chipola, Franklin was the head coach at Southeastern Illinois (2002-2007) and spent five seasons as an assistant at Mississippi State, where he was a part of the Bulldogs’ first NCAA Sweet 16 appearance. Franklin graduated from Austin Peay, where he was a two-time All-Ohio Valley Conference selection.

Comments are closed.