Academy Holy Names win own

December 31, 2014
Comments off

Host Academy of the Holy Names rallied from an early deficit for a 39-35 win over Academy at the Lakes in Wednesday’s Jaguar Holiday tournament championship game.

The Jaguars won their second title in their own tournament and first since defeating Plant in 2011.

“It’s an unreal feeling,” Academy of Holy Names coach Chris Severini said. “The excitement of these kids; it was awesome.”

The loss was the first for the Wildcats (14-1), who won the tourney in 2012.

“To go undefeated is not my goal, it never has been,” AATL coach Karim Nohra said, noting that fatigue likely factored into his team’s play in the final after three overtime victories in the tournament. “What I saw was a pretty resilient team.”

AATL raced to a 10-0 lead and Holy Names countered with a 15-0 run to take a 17-15 halftime lead. The Wildcats took their last lead at 18-17 on Luz Santiago’s 3-point shot.

Later, the Jaguars (13-3) broke a tie at 20 with a 10-2 run highlighted by Siobhan Lynch’s five points that included a 3-pointer.

“We came out a little flat,” Severini said. “We slowed it down to our pace and we were able to trim their lead a little bit. Then we built a lead.”

AATL’s Lauren Wells scored a game-high 10 points while Alyssa Muir led Holy Names with eight.

All-tournament team:

MVP: Caroline Kimbler, Academy of Holy Names

Siobhan Lynch, Academy of Holy Names

Luz Santiago, Academy at the Lakes

Imani Thomas, Academy at the Lakes

Jhade Hayes, Land O’Lakes

Trakyra Kidd, Wiregrass Ranch

Comments are closed.